33 Hurontario St.,
Take Control of this Listing
Increase traffic to this record by adding photos, videos, and embedded social media feeds.
Ontario Tourism Region : Bruce Peninsula, Southern Georgian Bay and Lake Simcoe
- Pop. 500. In Collingwood T., Grey C., on Nottawasaga Bay off Georgian Bay on Hwy 26 and C. Rd. 19, 9 km. NW of Collingwood.
- For a time the place was called Shalefield, but a post office called Craigleith opened in 1857, and two years later William Pollard started an oil extraction business unique in Ontario.
- For four years -- until unable to compete with a cheaper product from SW Ontario _ Pollard extracted oil from bituminous shales along the lakeshore.
- A plaque in adjacent Craigleith Provincial Park tells of a dramatic rescue of the crew of the Mary Ward which went aground on a reef on Nov. 24, 1872, with 27 people on board.
- Of two lifeboats launched, one capsized in the violent storm and eight men were lost. Nine who remained on board were rescued by Craigieith men who risked their lives in small boats.
- Craigleith's name may have been taken from a similarly named island in Scotland's Firth of Forth.
Address of this page: http://www.stirling.ruralroutes.com/craigleith